The Walk-on Resilience

image1

* Walk-On: Student athletes who are not recruited or receive an athletic scholarship
* Resilience: the capacity to recover quickly from difficulties; toughness

______________________________________________________________________________

This weekend, I had the pleasure of hearing from Holly Rowe.

Most noted for her success as a college football sideline reporter for ESPN, Holly shared with the female student-athletes of Oregon that nothing ever came easy.

She told stories of how she made opportunities for herself – they were never given to her.

She told stories of feeling defeated but not giving up.

And most importantly, she told stories of working hard no matter what: her first interview was with Michael Jordan.

Holly not only defied odds and paved the way for future female broadcasters, but her vulnerability and tenacity became her strengths. .

When no one was hiring, she scoured television schedules and volunteered to sideline report for games with little coverage for no pay. She created work and was building a portfolio.

And, eventually, she was noticed.

Holly Rowe knows how it feels to be a walk-on student-athlete.

No coach knows your name. No schools are battling to win you over. And, no one can persuade you with a scholarship.

Being a walk-on means defying odds and making a name for yourself.

It means being resilient.

Every walk-on experience is different based on your team, your coach, and even your school.

Given varying experiences, I consider mine very lucky. I was still a part of the team, I received gear and wore the jersey like everyone else, but I wasn’t paid or recruited.

Often, I was fighting just to earn more playing time in practice.

However, despite the odds, I was given a fair chance to earn a scholarship.

Being a walk-on teaches you that nothing is handed to you – you weren’t even recruited!

But if there’s one thing that being a walk on has taught me, it’s that resilience pays off.

I worked for three years to get better.

I never gave up on myself.

And I earned a starting position and scholarship my senior year.

Holly is as resilient as walk-ons. She proved that to me and my peers this weekend.

Resilient every day.

Because we always know it’s worth it.

 

One thought on “The Walk-on Resilience

Leave a comment